2015/2016 Scholarship Recipients

by CJS

In the 2015/2016 academic year, the Mosse/Weinstein Center awarded nearly $15,000 in need- and merit-based scholarships and grants to undergraduate and graduate students at UW–Madison.

Robert and Lynn Berman Scholarship
Geoffrey Ludvik

Ida and Isaac Lipton Major/Certificate Award
Naomi Segal

Ida and Isaac Lipton Study Abroad Award
Preston Atwood
Dylan Kaufman-Obstler
Abigail Lewis

Charles and Gayle Mazursky Student Support Award
Catherine Bonesho
Elizabeth Currier
Naomi Segal
Amanda Morrow

Robert and Beverly Natelson Family Scholarship
Preston Atwood

Lipton Essay Award
Catherine Bonesho, “The Polemics of Purin: Mythification in Theodosian Code 16:8:18.”
Preston Atwood, “From Ox Goring to Animal Striking: Law Generalization as Scribal Tendenz in Exodus 21:8-32, 35-36 of the Samaritan Pentateuch.”

David Sorkin Graduate Student Support Award
Abigail Lewis

Weinstein Distinguished Graduate Fellowship
Faina Polt

Laurence and Frances Weinstein Undergraduate Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement in Hebrew
Sasha Baken
Gabrielle Schwartzman

Recognition for Excellence in Hebrew
Quinn Buczak
Isaac Chesler
Lewis Gross
Emily Kohn

Lipton Award for Undergraduate Research
Aemilia Leyden